Apricot Marmalade

This recipe is one of those good old Central Otago ones that has been around for years.  The copy I have of it is from the Central Otago News (otherwise known as The Two Minutes Silence – I actually thought that was the name of the paper when I was a kid!)  it came from someone called Peg Mullen but my Mum tells me it has been around for a long long time.  It is lovely, the pineapple and citrus flavours go beautifully with the apricot, and best of all you don’t need a mountain of apricots to make it.

1.350 kg of apriots, 1 large tin of crushed pineapple, 2 oranges, 2 lemons, 2.250 kg sugar

Cut up the apricots and put in saucepan with pineapple.  Cut up rind and flesh of oranges and lemons.  If you have a kitchen whizz you may like to whizz all the fruit.  Bring all the frui to the boil and boil for four minutes.  Add the sugar and boil for a further 0 minutes.  Ladle into hot sterilized jars.

See – simple as.  Looks gorgeous.  I am preempting myself because I made apricot sauce with the glut of apricots I had the other weekend instead of this, but I have just been told of the best place to acquire cheap apricots so will go and get some to make this next week. Mmmmm.

Leave a Reply

