Leviathan by Scott Westerfield

This book is the most beautifully produced thing.  The cover is gorgeous, the drawings within are lovely and it feels fantastic in the hands.  I have loved Scott Westerfields other work and so saved this one as a treasure to read just prior to the holidays.  I’m still not sure if I really liked it.  I thought it was clever and really liked the way true historical facts were melded with fiction.  The characters were interesting at first, but I didn’t really develop a relationship with them, it is the first in the series so maybe as time goes on they will develop and grow.  I had watched  the book trailer below prior to reading it but the Darwinist angle still surprised me a bit, mixing up the genes of animals to make war machines – it’s a bit bizarre – G.E. and cloning gone mad essentially.  I feel a bit like I am damning the book with faint praise and it will be interesting to see what the boys at school think of it.  I will promote it enthusiastically and see what happens.  I can tell you though that they will certainly be attracted to the gorgeous cover that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

