Brides Farewell by Meg Rosoff

I have loved every book that Meg Rosoff has published.  The totally gorgeous and tensely gripping How I Live Now, Just In Case which was quirky, funny, slightly snarky and sexy, and What I Was which has a great twist at the end and an old fashioned feel.  I like the way Meg Rosoff envelops you with her characters, and I get totally caught up in her books and do nothing else but read them till they are done.

The Brides Farewell I read in a day, it is the story of Pell who runs away on the morning of her wedding, she ends up taking her mute little brother with her unwillingly, but he is determined to come.  She cannot face marrying Birdie, the boy who has loved her for years, and her home is a miserable place.  Poverty, squallor and with marriage and the constant production of children not seeming like a great option, she is out of there.

So Pell begins her journey, she is a fighter, she is tough, resilient and I adored her.  I actually didn’t think I was going to like this book as much as I did, and I was delighted with it.  If you have loved her other books then do read this, if you haven’t ever read her and you want a book with a gutsy girl, burly blokes and sensitive children, horses, and gypsy fortune tellers go and get hold of this.   There is a great interview with Meg Rosoff here.  Crikey, she is just really hot actually.  Quick Meg write me another book.

Leave a Reply

