YouTube Turns 5

I saw this and I thought, wow!  only 5?  YouTube is so embedded in out lives now that it feels to me like it has been around so much longer than that.  In all the social media tools I use I’m always shocked if something I’m looking for isn’t on YouTube, I’m always confident that I can find things like songs from the musicians I like, trailers for movies I’m interested in seeing and useful tools for work on there.  It has become such a tool in education that even our local Polytechnic have lessons on there for students.  Teachers in our school use videos from YouTube all the time in their lessons and I use Common Craft’s explanatory videos in the library often.  What did we do before?  Showing clips from YouTube has become ubiquitous,  just part of life.  I find it incredible to think that it’s only been five years since we started to use it.  I guess Facebook will be the same eventually.  Used as a advertising tool, to promote yourself and anything else you can think of.  I wonder what’s next?  I wonder how soon until YouTube is replaced by another tool and we look back and think “Oh YouTube, that is so 2010”.

YouTube have made a clip to celebrate their 5 year old birthday.

Leave a Reply

