Don’t say that around me please

I think I’m getting old.  I’m noticing the new trends in our language more and more.  In recent times, particularly when politicians and officials from any government department speak in public they insist on using the word ‘around’ to replace the words about and of.

Example: ” discussing issues around alcohol”  “issues around mobile banking” “issues around outsourcing”

I could find dozens of these examples.  They are in official, and wanting to sound official documents galore.

Is the word about going to disappear.  Is this new useage of the word around going to be around forever.  I thought it might just be a New Zealand phenomenon, but no, it is all over the place, a hunt around the interwebs (I know, but it is cold and I’m avoiding leaving the house.) leads me to believe it is becoming all pervasive.  I HATE it, it makes me cringe, it makes me want to hurt the speaker, and it makes me turn off the news.

Where did it come from?  Why is it here?  Who started this terrible trend?  Why do I find it so annoying?  Is it only me that finds it so?   Am I all alone in my hatred?  Should I start a Facebook Group and see if people join me?  Together we could stamp it out … or not.

2 comments

  1. Nope, you’re not alone. I can’t stand it either. And also, while we’re on the subject, the way people “talk to” something, instead of talking *to* people *about* something. What’s with that?!? Is this a conspiracy to get rid of the word “about” altogether?

  2. See I knew someone out there would agree with me. Yes the “talk to” is another one. Grrr like fingernails on a blackboard – if only they hadn’t been replaced by the whiteboard.

Leave a Reply

