The Project by Brian Faulkner

Brian Faulkner is fast becoming one of the really reliable authors for young adult books in New Zealand.  His books have a great sense of adventure that is easy to sell to teenagers – particularly boys.  I haven’t read Brainjack which was the release before this one but I did enjoy The real thing and The tomorrow code (except for the hideous final chapter which I tell all the boys not to read).  I think his specialty is the chase scene.  Good guys versus bad in a race against time.  That seems to be the recurring theme in his books and for fast paced adventure books he is the ‘go to man’ of the moment.

The story travels from the modern day America back in time to Nazi Germany via a book, the most boring book in the world. Which of course turns out to be a book written in code.

I really enjoyed this book, he kept me interested all the way through, I knocked it off in two sittings and I thought he handled the time travel aspect really well.  I really liked the fact that the book was set in the USA but the main character had links back to New Zealand, cute!  I might even have to go and read Brainjack now!

Leave a Reply

