Trick of the dark by Val McDermid

Val McDermid is one of the most reliable crime writers around.  She always manages to keep me guessing till the end and she holds on tight to your attention, disrupts your sleep, disrupts sunny afternoons when you should be out doing other things.  I probably should confess to owning a copy of every book Val McDermid has ever written.

This one took a little while for me to get totally hooked but once I was there I was constantly reading it.  There is a very strong lesbian theme which she doesn’t explore in too many of her other books so it was quite unexpected for me. It is great to read a book with lesbian characters which treats them as real people and which doesn’t turn them into some guys fantasy.  This is gritty and real.   I really liked the main character Charlie Flint, and she is the sort of character who could easily appear in a series, nicely flawed and not dissimilar to someone you might actually meet in real life.

This is a story about a series of murders which are all linked to one person but the twists and turns lead you on a wild goose chase of multiple suspects and good guys who may not be so good. It is set in Oxford and London far from the grim North of England and Scotland where most of the books Val writes are set, and I enjoyed the change of scenery.  I liked the relationship between Charlie and her partner, I liked their conversations which seemed very ‘real’ and although I could pick a few holes in the story in a couple of places I found it a good satisfying read and I’m ready for a new book now please Val, I think you are great.

Leave a Reply

