Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I am a sucker for a concept novel.  I like novels around a theme, with extra bits and pieces, with added online content, it it has bells and whistles, quirky goodness, tricky little gizmos, I’m going to buy it.  This does not always guarantee an excellent read!  I have spent a vast fortune – well a small fortune – buying the book with the awesome cover, just because it had an awesome cover.  That folks is why I bought this book.  Oh but it was a gooden, yay!

Filled with weird old photos of children who were the residents of a home for ‘peculiar’ children, this book is the story of Jacob’s Jewish Grandfather, and Jacob’s search for the truth behind his death, the dreams that plague him, the bizarre sight he saw as his beloved Grandfather lay dying in his arms.  Jacob is on a quest for the truth.  The truth it turns out is very scary, very hard to believe – in short very peculiar.  The photographs sit alongside the story, helping you to visualise the peculiar children and their very peculiar attributes.  I’m not giving more away than this for fear of ruining the surprises.

This book kept me up until 1am last night.  I just had to get to the end and find out what happened to Miss Peregrine and what decisions Jacob would make.  I was hooked from page 1 and basically did nothing else yesterday but read this book.  It is a cross-over novel, fits nicely into Young Adult or Adult and is a treat book.  Lovely!  Book trailer below.

3 comments

  1. I agree, this book is amazing! I just read it for a book club I am in and I am hosting the next meeting. I always try to match the food I serve with the book. The last one was Middlesex. I made food that looked like one thing but was actually something else. Would you have any suggestions for recipes for this book? Please email me at ajohnson143@yahoo.com if you do. Thank you.

  2. I’ve been thinking about this. I think it would have to be something Welsh given the location the book is set in. Therefore it really should be either a Welsh rarebit (never made one) or Leeks in some form. The Welsh do some fab cheeses so one of those would be good. I suppose you could go for the Jewish angle and serve a chicken soup or challah or something. All suggestions welcome. I like this topic!

Leave a Reply

