This is life by Dan Rhodes

I’ve been very slack in writing about the books I’ve been reading on here.  I’ve been a bit slack on here all round to be fair.  But spurred on by other work avoidance I am going to tell you about This Is Life by Dan Rhodes.  Regular readers (I know there are three of you – Hi Mum!) might remember my penchant for Dan Rhodes’ books.  This author makes me happy.  Happy in an ‘I don’t want this to end’ kind of way.  I was worried about this book, which is a great big one for him.  Previously his books are lightweight little numbers which have fitted slimly into your bag, I was worried he couldn’t sustain the fun for a weighty tome.  I was worried needlessly.  It was a lovely whimsical story, exactly as I had hoped.

Young art student Aurelie, is working on her big assignment, short on inspiration she takes a punt, and decides to throw a stone into the middle of a square in Paris, whoever the stone (it’s a small one) hits, she will spend a week with that person and draw them in their surroundings to get to know them and use them as a muse.  Unfortunately the stone lands on a baby, as if this wasn’t bad enough the mother of the baby hands it over and walks off, with the promise of returning in a week.  Aurelie has no experience with babies, little experience of the world in general and it is all a little overwhelming for her, as you would expect.  Thus begins their adventure.

It is also the beginning of some large adventures for her friends, her best friend who leaves a trail of broken hearts behind her, the professor and his wife who take her in temporarily, a Japanese family whose lives will completly change as a result of meeting Aurelie, her friends and the baby.  Funny, whimsical, cute, clever and a little bit silly this is a light hearted romp through Paris.

I loved it, wanted it to last longer, and can’t wait for Dan Rhodes to give me some more treasures.  Disappointingly I bought it as an e-book and am now going to have to spend more money and buy a paper copy to keep.  Great news for Mr Rhodes, not great news for my wallet.

Leave a Reply

