Review: The Language of Flowers

The Language of Flowers
The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a change of pace for me. A little romance and a lot of flowers. I learnt a lot about the meanings of flowers, not that I will probably ever use this knowledge, but the victorian language of flowers must have been very useful for courting couples of that time. I enjoyed seeing Victoria grow to adulthood via group homes and abandonment. She isn’t an entirely attractive personality, but she has plenty of drama to deal with and her prickliness is understandable given her childhood. I enjoyed her relationship with Elizabeth who nearly adopts her but ultimately lets her down. I liked her forgiving nature and the depiction of her life. A good book to read if you want some nice escapism and a view into the world of the florist and also single motherhood.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

