Review: The City of Mirrors

The City of Mirrors
The City of Mirrors by Justin Cronin
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve just set down the final book in my favourite series, possibly the only time I’ve read a whole complete series, and I’m left feeling a little bereft, a bit teary and overwhelmed and satisfied. Justin Cronin wrote a story that is deeply complicated, filled with loads of characters and tied all the threads together in the final volume but loosely, he left enough space for a little wondering. What a great book, I’ve spent large chunks of two weekends reading it and becoming that reader who cannot hear what is happening around them because the story was so engrossing.

Don’t even think of attempting this without reading the two previous books, you need all the background to lead into this. Fanning is going to tell you the story of how the virus was released, and why and expose the motivation for all that went before. But you will also follow all the people you have become invested in as they fought and loved and battled to survive in the previous books. And he will leave you with Amy. Amy is always at the centre of things, as she always was and always will be.

View all my reviews

One comment

  1. I felt very passionate about ‘The Passage’. So passionate it made me do something I’ve never done before – throw a book across the room. I did not like it. And felt duped by its 900 pages.
    Still, I’m pleased the series ended well for you!

Leave a Reply

