Review: Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things

Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things
Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Not for me. I started this with good heart, was looking forward to it having heard it talked up in book circles for ages. I often enjoy books of this type, someone struggling with various serious issues in a funny and engaging way, but not this time. It did start well, but I made it to nearly half way before sighing and moving on. Admittedly this isn’t a huge tome, but the voice of Jenny Lawson was just not something I could be dealing with. Trying so hard to be amusing and telling stories that I just couldn’t relate to, poking fun and being snarky but in the way you do when you talk with your friends, not something that other people want to read about verbatim in a book they have paid money for. It all just made me tired and bored. I think some things are best left to a blog rather than being published in print, and this was a good example of that.

View all my reviews

One comment

Leave a Reply

