Review: The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing
The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing by Marie Kondō
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was an audio book which I kind of tandem read with the book alongside me from time to time. As a consequence of reading this book I have thrown away 3 large bags of stuff from my home and a heap of papers out of my office, and that is just the beginning. That said, I think it is completely and utterly weird to speak to your belongings, to kneel down in the middle of your house upon getting home and say thank you out loud to your house. It is completely strange to talk to your clothing! There is often a condescending tone in the book, and I can imagine that Marie Kondo just despairs of people like me who actually like their overstuffed houses. The book, however, does have some great ideas for culling your belongings and for storing things. I will definitely revisit the book for inspiration to cull more things. I’m not going to buy into the whole Konmarie system, that is just a bit too far for me, but I have definitely taken some of it on board.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

