Review: Daylight Second

Daylight Second
Daylight Second by Kelly Ana Morey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyed this novel about Phar Lap. I have no real interest in horse racing, no real passion for horses, but I rather like a historical novel and this is one that rollicks along. There is quite a lot of detail about racing and lists of the races that the horse was entered into which slowed me down a bit, until the story overtook me and I raced to the end (Pardon the pun.). There is lots of detail about the family of the people involved in the story, the tales from the boarding house where Tommy the stable boy lives are great, the story of Vi, the trainer’s wife is sad and moving. At the end of the day, this is a story about the love for a champion horse by his trainer and all of those who had anything to do with him.

I’ve always enjoyed books by Kelly Ana Morey, they have an unusual, unclassifiable feel and this one is a bit of a departure, it is obvious that she has enjoyed the stories attached to this horse, there are some great notes at the end of the book which make it obvious that this has been a longstanding project. I think she has pulled it off with aplomb.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

