Review: Illuminae

Illuminae
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Oh it’s been a long haul with this one. I was really so keen to love it, bought myself a copy at the same time as I bought the school one. I started it and then thought nope. Not for me. Then I had that thing where I’d spent money on it and needed to get it to read. So I picked it up again in September and started, once I was in I really enjoyed it. But, and there is a but, I wasn’t in love with it and in the meantime, I’ve been on a long trip, I’ve read heaps of other books and this monster lay in wait, until this week when I picked it up again and made it to the end with a great big hiss and a roar.

It is a great big gorgeous concept book, but it isn’t easy to read, to keep track of the action, you need to pay attention and immerse yourself in it, it is a crazy world in there.

Basically it is really good sci fi, the AI is taking over, only one person can save us and the odds are stacked against her. There are great twists and double crosses and I really liked that. Lots of thought has gone into the structure. It has been marketed really well and I can see a movie in it’s future for sure.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

