Review: The Underground Railroad

The Underground Railroad
The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Cora’s story is harrowing, I found myself wanting desperately for her to survive, to be safe and to live through the ordeals she faced as a slave on the run. There is so much written about this book I’m just going to write a brief thing here. There is a heap of fascinating information in this book, I’d never heard about the underground railroad until this book came out, and I’d been completely unaware that such a thing existed, then in NYC I discovered you could take a tour which showed you the stops there. Sadly, we didn’t get time to do that tour. Anyway back to the book, for me it isn’t a 5 star, but it is really good, mostly because the story is so engaging, but the structure was at times very confusing. I found it a little disjointed in places and I wanted more of the characters. I loved the newspaper advertisements for the runaway slaves at the beginning of the chapters, they made it so much more real. I thought about this story a lot while I was reading it, at times feeling a little guilty that I wasn’t loving it quite as much as I thought I would, but it does have power, it tells an important story and it shocked me to read again about the treatment of blacks people in the past. Horrifying and moving, this is an important book but not one I found easy to read.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

