Review: The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen

The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen
The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen by Susin Nielsen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I thought Henry K. Larsen was one of the most engaging characters I’d met recently. He is a thinker, a keeper of secrets, a homelife that is challenging and a deeply troubled soul. But for all his troubles, he has a sense of humour, a taste for WWE and a tendency to gather unusual friends. Farley, who befriends Henry at his new school despite Henry’s best efforts, is just gorgeous!

I loved the way the big underlying secret was revealed one tiny detail at a time. Henry’s journal is a joy and a delight while being infinitely sad. This is a book about a horrific subject, it is about how people cope in different ways after terrible trauma and is is a book about the families of those left behind after a terrible incident. I can’t reveal the incident because it would ruin the story but Susan Nielsen is fast becoming one of the great voices in YA and I highly recommend that you get a copy of this for your school library and read it before you put it on the shelves, you will know the people you want to hand it to.

View all my reviews

One comment

  1. I, too, loved Henry K Larsen! He is simply delightful. I gave this to a Year 9 student to read over the summer break – I knew he was a fan of “Wonder”. When he brought it back he said he really enjoyed it and thought it was even better. There is definitely a big audience for this book!

Leave a Reply

