Review: Into the Wild

Into the Wild
Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’ve read Jon Krakauer before and I thought I’d read this one too until I started it and realised I’d read about it, rather than actually reading the book. I got something I didn’t really expect, an interesting and thoughtful read about a young man who headed into the wilderness of Alaska and perished there. My thoughts on this guy changed a lot during the course of my reading, I went from thinking he was a fool, to thinking he was just and idealistic dreamer who was clever and interesting, if ill prepared for the undertaking he intended. I found the ending poignant, Chris’s parents visit the site of his death. Jon Krakauer has written this book with a sympathetic view of a young man who appears foolish on the face of it, I loved all the conversations with the people who had met Chris along his journey. It gave me much to ponder.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

