Review: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Well, as it turns out, Eleanor really is completely fine, although how she manages to be fine is quite a story. Eleanor is odd, she is endearing, a woman of systems and very firm opinions on how everything should be. She works for an advertising agency doing the accounts, she has been there a long time, she eats the same food, sits in the same place at lunch, follows a rigid routine Suddenly it seems, Eleanor’s systems are being challenged, she is being made to feel that there might be other ways than hers which are worth considering.

As her story unfolds we discover that Eleanor’s childhood has coloured her life, that there are good reasons there are regular visits from social workers and why vodka is her comfort. I loved this book, I felt that Eleanor was a character who I’d never met and who I quickly became fond of. It races along and is really hard to put down. I found myself smiling at lots of Eleanor’s thoughts, I enjoyed her immensely.

Thanks so much to the publisher and Netgalley for giving me access to this marvellous book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

