Review: Hera Lindsay Bird

Hera Lindsay Bird
Hera Lindsay Bird by Hera Lindsay Bird
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Well, it has taken an age, but I’m done. I didn’t love this book, but I did think it was a deeply intimate, quirky and very personal book of poems. I know she is considered the bright young thing of New Zealand poetry right now, and I did really enjoy some of these immensely, but some of them were not my cup of poetry at all. I like that she makes me feel uncomfortable, I like that she takes risks. I want new voices in poetry and I like it that the book made the bestsellers lists, how often does it happen that poetry is on the top sellers lists, not very often.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

