Review: Enemy Camp

Enemy Camp
Enemy Camp by David Hill
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This isn’t the best of David Hill’s books. Even though the characters of Ewen, Barry and Clarry are engaging and read perfectly for kids of their generation and time, the action takes too long to get going. I have been using David Hill’s books with reluctant Year 11 students and wanted another one to add to the pile that I show them but I’m not convinced that they will love this one. The foundation of the book is very sound, the idea for the story, based on the fact that Japanese soldiers were interred at Featherston and there was a violent episode there, is great, it just took a bit long to happen. I really enjoyed reading about Clarry and his polio and Barry and his stutter, but after a while, it did all become a bit overdone. Certainly, it is an okay book, but I’ve read much much better books from the lovely David Hill.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

