Review: Six Four

Six Four
Six Four by Hideo Yokoyama
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Completely beguiled by the cool cover and the bright pink page edges, coupled with a very persuasive bookseller, I thought this was going to be great. Years ago I read a heap of Japanese crime novels and really enjoyed them, I liked that they were short, sharp, dark and fast moving. Not this one though.
I’ve dithered over the number of stars I’d give to this book, I finally walked away at page 452, I’d given up caring if Mikami’s daughter turned up, a story that I’d really enjoyed in the beginning, I’d lost interest in the main characters relationship with the other police, the press, the administrators, rather tragically it took me 452 pages to obtain this utter lack of interest. You spend the entirety of the book inside the main characters head, while he thinks his thinky thoughts, it is very wearing.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

